Four members of the Task Force Sea Marshall will receive International Maritime Organization (IMO) Certificates of Commendation at IMO Headquarters on November 24, 2010. Ambassador Efthimios Mitropoulos, IMO Secretary-General, said Task Force Sea Marshal members PO2 Samuel B. Boniol PCG, PO3 Anifer S. Bucao PN, SN1 Oliver S. Cogo PN, and SPO3 Loreto F. Justo PNP will receive Certificates of Commendation.The commendation is in recognition of their actions in the evacuation and disembarkation of more than 900 passengers from the M/V Super Ferry 9 last year near the Zamboanga Peninsula.

Admiral Wilfredo Tamayo, Commandant of the Philippines Coast Guard, pioneered the activation of Task Force Sea Marshal (TFSM) in March 2004 which is the PCG's major contribution to the government's campaign against terrorism following the Superferry 14 bombing incident. TFSM deploys a composite team of Philippine Coast Guard (PCG), Armed Forces of the Philippines, Philippine National Police, and ship's security personel on board passenger vessels departing from various ports and act as security for the vessel while on high seas. The TFSM is composed of about 200 officers and personnel and is under the operational control of Commodore Luis Tuason, the Commander of Coast Guard District National Capital Region-Central Luzon.